About Us

Robert M. Eisenstein, MD, FACEP Chair, Robert Wood Johnson Department of Emergency Medicine

As a Level I Trauma Center and the first pediatric trauma center in New Jersey, RWJUH New Brunswick has received national acclaim for its ground-breaking approach to emergency preparedness. Our emergency department cares for more than 95,000 emergency department and trauma patients annually

We are one of only three Level I Trauma Centers in New Jersey, a Pediatric Level II Trauma Center associated with Bristol-Myers Squibb a nationally recognized Children’s Hospital, an academic medical center with emergency medicine residency and fellowship programs, and a state and regional leader in emergency and trauma care. We take pride in providing care to a large, diverse population of patients and addressing some of the most serious adult and pediatric illnesses and traumatic injuries in the state.

Establishment of the Department as an Academic Medical Center

The Academic Department was created on this campus in July, 2005.   Since its inception the department has had tremendous growth, increasing contributions to all of the medical school’s missions.

On July 1, 2010 we commenced our Rutgers Health/Robert Wood Johnson Medical School Emergency Medicine Residency Program. An ACGME three year accredited program for 18 residents based out of Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital offering a variety of rotations including toxicology and ultrasound.

Involvement in Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Since the creation of our department we have had an active role in medical student education.

  • We have implemented a mandatory 4th year clerkship in Emergency Medicine
  • We have introduced Emergency Ultrasound to the institution and have created medical student electives in Emergency Ultrasound and EMS
  • We provide education for 1st and 2nd year students in BLS, ACLS, and Universal Precautions
  • We educate residents and students about their role on the hospital “Code Team”
  • We serve as a clinical site for Family Medicine and Psychiatry residents